The mirror is being a bitch

Today is a very exciting day because it is my first collab with Aly’s Journals. To celebrate her reaching 700 followers, she is doing a big collaboration with bloggers and companies and because I love everything her blog stands for, I sent over one of my poems that has been sitting waiting for an opportunity to be seen. 

Pressure, beauty, make up, bare faced

It’s called ‘The Mirror is Being a Bitch’ and you can check it out over on her blog. I wrote it because I was tired of the pressures women have from society. Every magazine I flick through has articles on how to be slimmer, which ridiculously expensive product is promising to make you pretty this month and playing on all our insecurities to make a bit of cash. I see my beautiful friends, sisters, Mum, glare in to the mirror, squeezing bits of flesh or desperately plucking and concealing anything that is deemed less than perfect. Yet all I see is perfection in them. My Sister, with boundless energy for her daughter and time for all of us. My Mum, whom I find hilarious and strong and vulnerable all at once. My friend, with her fire red hair, and long limbs, yet she still paints over her freckles and lines her eyes to hide from the world. They are all incredible women to me and I am angry at society for telling them that they are less than. And then I look at my Niece, who innocently puts on a tiara and dresses in one of my sparkly tops and has no shame in shouting that she looks stunning. It breaks my heart because she truly believes she is funny and smart and yet I know given the chance, the world will try to break her spirit. Which is why I want us all to be four again. To look in the mirror and see through the eyes of our younger selves, and love what we see, exactly as we are. You can read the poem here, please let me know what you think!

You can also follow Alys on Twitter trust me, she’s lovely!

7 thoughts on “The mirror is being a bitch

  1. What a lovely idea for a collaboration. I just went over to read your poem and it’s really good! I really liked it, you write beautifully. I also wish we were all four again. Life would be so much simpler. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment